Mail Online Article – Girl Dies After No Nut Warning on Takeaway Website

Mail Online Article 

I found this article on the Daily Mail’s Online site, published on 17 September 2012, about a girl who died after eating curry from a takeaway which wasn’t labelled as nut-containing. It shows that the changes in the Food Information Regulations (2013) outlined in my last post are needed very much. Have a read, and I’ve added a few personal thoughts below:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2204404/Nut-allergy-girl-killed-mouthful-chicken-curry-local-takeaway-warning-left-menu.html *

*Also, read some of the comments below the article by Mail Online readers. Some of them display good insights into the attitudes of nut allergy sufferers regarding food labelling, and state how nut allergies affect their lives.

Daily Mail

Article Appeared on the Daily Mail’s internet site, Mail Online [Image courtesy of Edmond Wells]

Thoughts

This really does highlight how dangerous nut allergies can be, and how careful sufferers must be every minute of every day. As it stands, there is no legal requirement for takeaways to display allergen information, so there was no knowing that the food was not suitable for someone with a nut allergy.

The Food Standards Agency told me that the situation will change in 2013, when takeaways will be subject to the more stringent allergen rules that we see in restaurants. In short, the curry would have been labelled under the new legislation, warning that the product had been cooked with nut oil and ground almonds. It seems commonsensical that all products containing nuts should have a warning on them, when there are a large number of people with such dangerous nut allergies.

Personal Concerns about Eating Out

Vegetable Curry (Bulk)

I only eat Home-Made Curry to be Sure Nuts Don’t Appear in it [Image courtesy of phdstudent]

I avoid curries, Indian and Chinese food. I know that many nut allergy sufferers enjoy these foods safely, but for me – and this is a personal opinion – I am afraid about accidental nut contamination of food in a kitchen environment where nuts are used so freely elsewhere. I don’t eat out very often, which is again a personal decision, because I haven’t got the control of the allergen that I suffer from.

The only way that I would ‘risk’ eating a curry is if it was home-made and I had the reassurance that nuts were not used to make it. I am also concerned about the use of nut oil in foods, as evident in the Mail Online article. But with nut oil, there is a much larger array of foods that it could appear in – and foods which you might not have even considered as being nut-containing. Although I am obviously aware of the serious nature of my allergy, I do not ‘worry’ about it on a daily basis. But nut oil is the main thing that worries me regularly.

Will the new Food Information Regulations change my attitude about this? I am afraid not. But I cannot reiterate enough how much I feel the Regulation changes are required. Sufferers need to know exactly what is in their food before they eat it. The Mail Online article is certainly proof of that.

Leave a Reply

The Formula 1 Forum

The forum to discuss everything from practise to the podium

The Armchair Fanat1c

I've lost my (rubber) marbles!

Lucy's Friendly Foods

Inspiring friendly recipes and thoughts

nanothenutdetectiondog

Dogs and a bit of music but strictly no nuts!

The Football League Blog

The Football League Blog is a place to discuss games, transfers and scandals from the most exciting leagues in the world; the npower Championship, npower League 1 and npower League 2!

Back In The Hutch

Exploring all things cricket, with a slight Welsh twist

